Week 1: Plaid, Moisture, Defenseless

Standard

I know I said we would start the new 3 word stories on Monday, but I’m excited and can’t wait and decided tostartrightnow!  That’s right, this time the very first 3-word prompt comes to you a day early.  Remember that your stories/poems can be any length, though if longer than 500 words you must leave a link to your page instead of posting the whole thing here.

Comments on the created work are welcome, as long as they are constructive.  I will delete unkind or unproductive comments (along with your work that week if any), so let’s all maintain decorum.  Please do spell check your work before submitting; typo’s are tedious and distracting, enough said.   Here we go!

Week 1

Plaid

Moisture

Defenseless

Use these 3 words in a short story or poem.  You can submit it here by replying to this post.  All creations are due by Friday midnight EST and I will run a poll every Friday to see what the public thinks.  The top winner along with will receive a post on their works over the weekend.    Sorry no prizes, just the thrill of knowing you did it and made us eat crow this week.  🙂

PS: Please NO XXX, swearing, or harming of children.

17 responses »

  1. #1 – Marcia’s back was chilled to the bone. She had chosen to wear the ghastly royal steward plaid side of her reversible raincoat next to her skin, and the moisture had soaked through her thin blouse. She shivered at her reflection in the glass door of the hotel, defenseless against the cold wet of her coat–or against her vanity? She didn’t know which. No, she knew.

    This is a great example. Longer or shorter, it is up to you. Clever use of the words too, I liked it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Love this idea, Neeks. Can’t wait to see what people come up with. I am afraid I cannot participate, too many other projects going on right now!

    Thank you, I hope this means that you are taking a raincheck and will join us another time!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Short Story Challenge: The Gift | Creative Mysteries

  4. Very fun. And I like your disclaimer. I may try to participate starting in January when things quiet down a bit. I’d like to get back to some fiction.

    Oh I would love to have some of your work on here Victoria, what fun! Come back when you can, we’d love to have you. 🙂

    Like

  5. #2 – Plaid, Moisture, Defenseless
    Sometimes winter is just plain cold. Other times, it becomes more bearable, like
    tonight. It is a warm forty three degrees as I walk from the bus stop toward
    home. Don’t get me wrong, it was still chilly, and I pulled my quilted plaid
    shirt tighter around me. I had thought it would be enough, that I wouldn’t need
    more. I was wrong to some extent.

    It is just now getting dark, and clouds have been forming all afternoon. There
    could be a storm in the mix. I tried to walk a little faster, partly because of
    the chill, and partly in fear of being left defenseless in a building storm. I
    didn’t need to get sick again, like I had been the week before.

    As I walked closer to home, it began to mist a little and I turned my collar up
    to its full height, just to gain a little more warmth out of the shirt. The wind
    began to pick up a little, and soon I could feel a dampness on the outside of my
    shirt. If I didn’t get home soon, it could get worse. The slight wind began to
    drive the moisture of the oncoming storm deeper into my shirt, and although it
    was quilted, the overall temperature inside my clothing began to degrade.

    I walked faster yet, as the rain started coming down to replace the mist that had
    been there before. Only six blocks to go now, and I’d be safe. By the time I had
    gone another block, the rain was now a driving blanket of moisture and it was
    beginning to soak through my shirt. I decided to trot, just to get the distance
    lessened more quickly.

    When I rounded the last corner, I could see my house ahead on the left, five
    houses down the block, waiting for me to gain the threshold and be safe again.
    However, the rain had other plans. It began to pour down with a fury and ahead, I
    could see sheets of rain bouncing off the rooftops of the other houses as the
    wind drove the storm. Finally I was there, with only the lawn to cross to make it
    to the stair steps that stood between me and safety.

    I took one step onto the lawn and a gust of wind hit me with a blast of rain, and
    my footing gave way. There I lay, flat on my stomach, feeling almost hopeless,
    but determined to get back up and make it to the stairs. Finally, I mounted the
    first step of the stairs and knew I would be safe any second. Two more steps to go
    and I would be on the porch.

    Once under the protection of the porch roof, I looked back at the storm. My poor
    plaid jacket was dripping moisture on all sides. I opened the front door and went
    inside, taking off my jacket, and getting a towel to wipe my face.

    I was finally home, and safe.

    I loved your story, great use of the three words. Your story made me cold and shivery! We’ve all been caught
    up in a storm and unable to get inside in time, at least once. I feel the suspense that drives the runner, great story!

    Like

  6. Love the idea. Similar in spirit to the prompt for Julia’s 100WC For Grown-ups. I can’t participate until after the holidays are over. Hope you get lots of entries! Cheers!

    Thank you Jilanne (still love that name!), do you know that Julia and her 100-Word Stories site also works with a lot of schools? You can sign up (I did) to help. She will send you a list of numbers. She has a page that the schoolchildren list their individual stories. You look up the stories submitted under your set of numbers. Read the story then comment on it in a positive manner, every week. It helps the children to have other people reading their work and commenting on it and encouraging them.
    I look forward to reading some of your work here in January! See you then 🙂

    Like

  7. #4 – I stood in the corner, smoking a cigarette, the flashing light outside making the room seem like a disco for people fixated on the colour blue. The medical examiner had pulled the greasy plaid raincoat back and was taking a look at the body. The title of that old Steve Martin movie came back to me – “Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid” – well this one did, it was his final shroud.
    I could feel moisture soaking through my regulation tan raincoat, so I took it off and shook it, the crime scene was already contaminated, a few more drops of water wouldn’t hurt.
    Lieutenant Medina came in, her eyes wide, pupils dilated; she always seemed like a rabbit in the headlights – defenceless and vulnerable. It was a good act; I’d seen her throw a suspect halfway across the interrogation room when he’d tried it on with her.
    “What have we got, Joe?”
    The M.E. looked up, “Another case of counterfeit organs, Lieutenant. His heart and lungs have turned to mush. I’ll give the technical information in my report.”
    “And it’s the same as the other failures?”
    “Seems to be, but we’ll only be sure when I get the labs back.”
    “Thanks.”
    She came over to me, her wide eyes glistening. “I want you on the street. Someone must know where these organs are coming from. Find them!”
    I nodded and put my damp raincoat back on. As I walked out the door I lit up another cigarette. The pain in my lungs was back; thank God I’m a municipal worker, my lungs will come from a clean vat on a state approved farm.
    It was still raining, so I pulled up my collar as I walked across electric blue puddles. It was going to be a long night.

    (297 Words)

    Wow Dennis, you picked my personal favorite genre, sci-fi 🙂 Loved that bit about the state approved farm, how creative!

    Like

    • Most of my writing ends up being seen through a science fictional prism. My first ever crime story revolved around the murder victim’s personality being saved in the memory of the hotel room’s microwave! 😀

      That one sounds interesting too Dennis. All of a sudden I can’t get enough of sci-fi! 🙂

      Like

  8. #5 – Cool idea for a post series, contest, and a way to get back into blogging, Neeks! Here’s a link to my entry, though I do understand if you decide not to include it. My judgment’s a bit fuzzy, these days. Heh.

    http://bonusparts.wordpress.com/2013/12/12/first-tries-and-second-chances/

    Regardless, thanks for giving me an excuse to put down this bit of free writing!

    Mayumi I loved your story and it wasn’t risque at all. It was very tastefully done, and well written. Thank you for entering, I bookmarked your blog :)!!

    Like

  9. Pingback: First Snow Adventure | Mary Writes

    • #6 – This story is #6 folks, go check it out. Mary when I try to comment on this or click on it I only get an error message from WordPress. Your story was an excellent one, folks if you click above this post on Pingback: First Snow Adventure/Mary Writes – it will take you to her excellent story. She used not one but two 3-word prompts! Impressive.

      Like

  10. Pingback: First Tries and Second Chances | Even More BonusParts!

Leave a Reply

