Cheesy Party Bread

Standard

(Garnish, Wise, Politics)

Dear Dorothy, December 1, 1948

I was glad to get your letter in the post. It was forwarded to us by the state department. You will notice that the return post on mine is Paris, France. Yes, my dear Paul has been stationed here for four years, four years! I shall love every minute of it, do you hear? Paris!
You have asked me how to make the bread I served at dinner when we were together last. It is a simple thing. Two tablespoons of jalapeño slices are all that you need to spice it up. Three or four and you’ve ruined it. In other words, you must follow the recipe word for word, if you expect the dish to turn out as it is meant to. I do love to cook and present a good meal, so I will explain it all to you in earnest my dearest sister, since you have asked.

First, always: read the recipe. Start to finish. Read it entirely before you gather your ingredients and cooking supplies. It is of no use to mix the perfect cheesecake if you have no springform pan to cook it in. Would your husband get in the car and start driving without knowing in what direction to go? No? Read!

Cheesy Party Bread

Ingredients:

1 Unsliced Round loaf (about 1 lb.) sourdough bread
(Or any kind you like)
1 lb. Monterey Jack Cheese, sliced
½ C. Mozzarella cheese, shredded
½ C. Butter, melted
½ C. chopped green onions
2 Tb. jalapeño slices, minced
¼ C. fresh parsley, finely chopped
½ Tsp. of garlic powder

Directions:

Cut the bread lengthwise and crosswise without cutting through the bottom crust. It is the base and must be intact. Insert cheese between cuts. Combine butter, onions, garlic powder and jalapeño and sprinkle over bread evenly as possible.

Wrap in aluminum foil, place on a baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 min. Uncover, bake 10 minutes longer or until cheese is melted. Garnish with parsley. This is best if served warm, as you may remember.

There, that is it then. The bread is lovely with a nice wine after dinner, although as bread is loved equally by the masses it will go as well with that menace to the palate, beer. If you intend to be allowed to have time to serve and eat your dinner, do not mention politics to Papa or he will become upset and ask to leave. You know his opinion on the senator. In this instance it is better left alone.

All my love,
Julia

8 responses »

  1. Wonderful!

    Thank you, this is a dramatization of a famous chef. The recipe is not one of hers, I got it out of one of those Quick Cooking type magazines and added a few things. It’s sensational though, the recipe is a good one. Thank you so much for reading and commenting 🙂

    Like

  2. *bravo* Homage to one of my favourite personalities ever.

    Cool! Watched Julie/Julia last night, 🙂 My 16 yr old asked me why Meryl Streep was talking in that voice. I told her to go Youtube Julia and listen to her talk. Before your time kid, she was the best! GADs, I just used “Youtube” as a verb. LOL!
    Oh and was I that obvious? Oh well, lol!

    Like

  3. Excellent writing, especially the letter asides which give us insights into the personalities of Julia, Dorothy and their Papa.

    Thanks, I just watched the movie…lol, so the characters were pretty vivid in my mind

    Like

  4. Hey! I was going to say that! The story made me think of Julia Child possibly writing to her sister or friend Avis. But, oh, Monique…I truly LOVED this one. Perfectly warm and delicious, my friend. As always, I feel the need to say THANK YOU! What a treat!! Now I need to wipe the drool slowly dripping down my chin. LOL!

    Love and BIG hugs,
    ~Virginia

    Mmm, this bread is delicious and looks sensational! Try it and let me know how it turned out 🙂 Luv ya sis-o-mine!

    Like

  5. Fabulous! Loved Julie & Julia 🙂

    Thank you, I liked it too! I didn’t realize that it’s a true story, I wonder why Julia would not like Julie’s blog, unless it was the use of the F-bomb, which she admitted to. I should think it would be the highest form of flattery, for someone to cook themselves through my cookbook, but the movie says Julia didn’t like the blog. Who knows?

    Like

  6. I’m hungry. Can I have some, please?

    You know, me too! I think I’ll stop by the store on the way home 🙂 I’m thinking the cheesy bread along with soup and a salad for supper. Mmmm

    Like

  7. Love it! I saw Julie and Julia with girlfriends not long after it came out, and have been hungry every since. Cheesy Party Bread and beer it will be! (*chuckles*)

    🙂 🙂 🙂 Party at Desi’s house! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

