Laughter, Athlete, Trial

Standard

Here is my response to the prompt :)

There was laughter in our house, you see
we were watching an athlete on tv.
He ran a quick mile,
(such a difficult trial!)
Then he smacked right into a tree.

~     ~

Ode To A Teen

Halt.
What odor invadeth the slumbering nostrils
of thy parental unit?
Thy scent giveth thou away,
perspiring horselips.

Thy socks do overpower me.
I must crawl from my place of repose,
Inciting waves of rebellious laughter.

Oh thou slavering ruminant,
The bouquet wafting from thy bedchambers
Would render the strongest athlete
senseless and broken before
the  lockers of thine enemy.
Surely thou art not the issue of my loins!

What evil have I visited upon
thy person that I must
avail myself of such daily trials?
Thou taketh after thy father,
that porcine sluggard.

5 responses »

  1. ‘Surely thou art not the issue of my loins’ ha!…….Thou didst leave, thy fragrance lingers well into the dawn of adult-dum. No kids here, not sure about Shakespeare, but I think humour must be only sane approach to dealing with them. You can’t beat ‘em nor I doubt would you want to join their club.

    ‘Porcine sluggard’, ouch. Am surprised sluggard is not a more widely used given it is a do-all, cover the whole enchiladas kinda descriptive word:

    slug·gard
    ˈsləgərd/
    noun
    noun: sluggard; plural noun: sluggards

    1.
    a lazy, sluggish person.
    synonyms: ne’er-do-well, layabout, do-nothing, idler, loafer, lounger, good-for-nothing, shirker, underachiever; and much more

    You do ‘fun’ very well. Thanks for the smile. Making someone smile is a gift without all the bother of wrapping. The gift that gets others through sickness, sadness and teenagers. Oh an least we forget the scourge of ‘porcine sluggards’.

    Teeheehee, thanks Hudson. A bit silly sometimes, I do like to make people laugh. Life is serious enough!

  2. Am way to serious for my own good. Life would be simpler if I was a helium balloon. Wait maybe a Rock would be better, they have great life expectancy -can Rocks are happy?

    Prolly depends on the rock Hudson – a little round brown rock at the bottom of a gurgling stream? A giggler I would think. Big cliffs on the side of the highway? Angry I believe, why else would they throw their boulders down at us?

  3. Funny! I love the athlete running into the tree! I have no teenagers, but your poetic and humorous description gives me such a clear understanding that it is almost odorous. Laughter is a good way to face the challenges of the day.

    Thank you so much, I am glad you enjoyed my little diversion. Why don’t you try your hand at it too? Post your piece right here in the comments! Thank you for stopping by and commenting too. :)

  4. Har… the joys of our offspring, although I know they would probably have more to say about me than the other way around.

    Mine too. Here’s to hoping our kids never talk! lol

Leave a Reply

